Dual boot

Hey guys,

I know Haiku is still under development, but is there a way I can setup my pc for a dual boot of XP and Haiku? I’m new to both Haiku and BeOS, and after I discovered that I can’t run R5 on my computer (XP and over 1 gig of RAM), I thought I’d check out what Be has evolved into. I have an open partition, and if somebody could tell me how to format it to BFS/OpenBFS and build Haiku, I’d be happy to pound away at it for beta testing and development :). Thanks in advance.

At the moment, the only way I know of is to install from within a BeOS environment. Unless you want to buy a copy of Zeta (because of the hardware support), I’m pretty sure you won’t be able to install Haiku.

If BeOS MAX still doesn’t work with >1 gig RAM, would this boot floppy help? In that case it should be possible to install.

Hmm, I just tried the image and I still got a boot failure for trying to load BeOS PE 5. It said:

“PANIC: the bootloader was unable to find a beos volume to boot from. If you are trying to boot from a CD-ROM…”

Any ideas?

Is it because I’m trying to use PE? I think I tried BeOS Max 3.1b1 before and had a similar error. Does anyone know where I can download BeOS Max v3? The sourceforge (via BeBits) is no longer hosting the files. I’ll see if I can get that to work.

AFAICT it’s an issue of the kernel’s compatibility with something to do with the chipset. My wife’s machine (SiS something-or-other chipset) won’t boot R5 or Zeta and it chokes on that very error. It’s the only one I’ve tried in all my years of BeOS usage that has had that problem. Dare I say it, you’re out of luck on this one AFAIK. :frowning:

Oh no really?!?! What kind of computer does your wife have? I was trying to install this on a Dell Inspiron 5100 notebook, P4 2.4 Ghz, 1Gig ram, Intel 8280 1DB controller/bridge for chipset, currently running Win XP.

There isn’t any fix at all for this?