Do I really need to COMPLETELY understand binary?

I’m running through the Learning to program with Haiku book by DarkWyrm for google code-in.
In past, I have always programmed in higher level languages like Python and Java, so I’m a novice in any C based languages.
Is it, in practice, really necessary to completely understand binary to be able to program in C or C++?
I have a basic understanding but I was wondering how in-depth I need to go to be able to program in Haiku.

Cheers

If you mean assembly, no. You wont need it unless you have to go to a low level coding, or need very optimized code.

If you mean binary logic (as in true/false), you would be OK with previous knowledge.

If you mean bit arithmetic (bitshifting, xoring, oring, adding, …) then you might need to understand it for some C/Cpp code.

If you mean binary files, you might need to understand what compilation means, and that it involves the steps of compilation + linkage to generate a executable file for the target OS. Just pointing as this, as you have only experience in non-compiled languages (stated above).

Else… provide more info.

2 Likes

If you mean the binary numbers I’d suggest you understand at least summing, doing products and two-s complement notation.

2 Likes

I’m just learning C/Cpp coding, I’m sorry if that’s not specific enough (still learning). I assume I will use it for application development in the future, and I don’t know how deep I should go.

1 Like

Well you don’t need to be a binary calculator. But you have to understand how logical operators works. You need to understand two-s complement and the problem of the double representation of zero, and so, how negative numbers are represented. Especially if you plan to do low level programming. In general, if you’re young I’d suggest to learn this stuff. Your brain will be thankful in a few years.

2 Likes

Hi,