Current status of language bindings?

I would like to get into programming and make applications, but I’m not so interested in C or C++. Is there anywhere where I can see the status of various language bindings for Haiku or how to get started using them? Most of the information I found is from 3, 5 or 10 years ago. Also, how difficult is it to improve the bindings or create new bindings?

I’m primarily interested in modern languages like Zig, Nelua (or maybe Lua), Beef, Odin, maybe Rust, etc.

There are still not that many bindings.
The only complete and actively maintained BeAPI binding I know is YAB,some sort of Basic which is maintained by the BeSly.de people if I know right.
Another option is Bethon,Python-bindings for the BeAPI but I think it hasn’t been updates for years and I don’t know if it’s complete or still functional.
Most people use C++ to write Haiku apps,I also didn’t want to learn it because I thought it’s too difficult,but now I started learning it anyway because it’s the only thing that currently makes sense if you want to write truly native Haiku apps.

I just don’t think that I would enjoy C++ much even if I were able to learn it. I see how senior developers who have been coding in C++ for decades are still struggling with bugs and debugging the language and the compiler and so on. I want to do more with less code and spend more time on features than hunting down bugs that seemingly could’ve been avoided with a different language.

1 Like

C++ is the best way to write code for Haiku, since that’s the native language for the OS itself.

For Rust, there is a crate for Haiku: haiku - Rust maintained by @nielx

2 Likes

I am a Zig and Rust fan as well. I might experiment with trying to have business logic in Zig which exposes a C API that could be called from Haiku C++ GUI code. Though I know that is not what you are asking for.