Creating an Haiku LiveCD

Hello!

Firstly, sorry for my bad english, I’m from Brazil :stuck_out_tongue:

I’m an Newbie in the Haiku Universe, but I’ve downloaded the system and saw that’s very fast and stable. So, I’m trying to build an Haiku Live-CD for showing it to the people :stuck_out_tongue:

I tried using GRUB, but, without success. I saw on some forums that the CD need to use an floppy boot image as the first track, and the second track the system itself. But, where can I find this image? I’m using Linux now.

Best Regards,
Daniel Sader (TheComputerGuy)

Ignore any old “LiveCD” info you find…in the recent weeks, the livecd has changed drastically.

You can now build one from sources using:

jam -q haiku-cd

which will create an iso file that can be burned directly to a CD. There’s no longer a need for dual-tracks as there is an fs overlay that allows haiku to boot from iso9660 directly.

Is there any way of doing this in Windows?

Cygwin.

Cygwin.[/quote]

During the time it will take you to setup cygwin and compile Haiku, You’d already have a virtual machine with linux going, sources downloaded, haiku built, and haiku running…

seriously, it’s that bad.

I believe you. Could you elaborate please? Sort of from Windows to Haiku on Linux virtual machine in 10 (or whatever) steps?

Well install VirtualBox
install a distro you like in Virtualbox (Archlinux, Debian and Ubuntu in order of adventurousness)
Basically remember to enable intel-vt support in VirtualBox and add the linux iso to the virtual cd drive to boot initially and install to the virtual HD you should have created (10gb should be enough). Then remove the iso from the virtual drive and reboot. You should have Linux installed at this point. You should figure out how to transfer files from Windows to Linux I haven’t tried that so can’t help much. I am pretty sure can mount USB drives inside the VM once you enable that features