Can I customise the Deskbar menu?

I’m new to Haiku, but old to diverse operating systems. I’m finding my way around for the most part, but I haven’t been able to find out how to change the contents of the deskbar menu (for example, to move the Demos folder into Programs).

Am I missing something obvious?

You can’t delete or move things without remaking a lot of HPKGs from scratch, and that would get blown away at the next update anyway.

But you can add things.

Create the following directories if they don’t already exist (case-sensitive!)

/boot/home/config/non-packaged/data/deskbar/menu/Applications
/boot/home/config/non-packaged/data/deskbar/menu/Demos
/boot/home/config/non-packaged/data/deskbar/menu/Desktop Applets
/boot/home/config/non-packaged/data/deskbar/menu/Preferences

Anything you put in there will show up in your Deskbar menu; programs, scripts, symlinks … Try to keep things sane by not using the same names as the main system menu.

So if having Demos inside Applications makes more sense to you, just put a symlink to to /boot/system/data/deskbar/menu/Demos in /boot/home/config/non-packaged/data/deskbar/menu/Applications. The system Demos won’t go away, though. You’ll end up with both.

You can even invent your own categories. I have a bunch of PDFs on my main system that I need for quick reference. I just store them in /boot/home/config/non-packaged/data/deskbar/menu/Reference and they show up in the Deskbar in their own category besides the four standard ones.

4 Likes

It’s not obvious. :slight_smile:
Have a look at the info box of the Deskbar topic about its “Menu”.

1 Like

Thank you Michel, that’s a really good thorough reply!

It’s not so much a case of where things make sense, more a case of tidying up … I guess I’ll just put a copy of the symlinks to programs I want to use in their own folder and try to ignore the compulsion to organise things :grimacing: