Breeze web browser - WIP

Hi all!

Yeah, i know… “Yet another web browser thread”. :grin:

Few weeks ago i installed Haiku to my old Acer Aspire One -mini laptop.

Well, it isn’t very fast machine, so first thing i noticed that web browsing was very slow and unstable. I tried all browsers that were available in repos and any of those didn’t were really any better.

I am not really a coder/developer, i know a bit of linux bash scripting and a little bit of python too, so i asked “almost legendary” chatgpt straight forward question; “how hard is to make simple and lightweight web browser to Haiku”, well it responded “Glad you asked, it really isn’t that hard, let’s try following with python…” :rofl:

It suggested to start with PyQt5 and PyQtWebEngine5, so i installed pyqt5_python310 and pyqtwebengine5_python310. I mentioned features that i wanted to it and it suggested gradually more and more python code for me… well, it wasn’t really that straight forward, but it helped me a lot. In reality it contained a lot of head banging and trying different things, but i finally got it working…

After a few days i had pretty good working simple web-browser. It has following basic features…

• basic navigation buttons
  • floating/movable navigation toolbar
  • tabbed browsing
  • video/sound playback
  • bookmarks, with add and removal option
  • simple file download manager with progress bar and cancel possibility

I am pretty happy with it. :sunglasses:

It contains only 312 lines of python code. It feels snappier in browsing and it seems to play youtube videos better. Not sure if it is placebo feeling, but anyway… :wink:
It doesn’t have adblocking, because i use hblock in Haiku.

Chatgpt also had some ideas how to block youtube ads also, so i am trying to get that work too…

I tested browser with html5test.co (+ many sites) and I tested it with both pyqt5, pyqt6 versions and latest firefox for comparison…