BeOS PowerPC: a sad tale of Apple hardware

So, I finally got my Powermac 9500 out of storage.

IMG_1291 IMG_1292 IMG_1293

It “works” to a fashion (it has issues, but so far it has successfully booted a number of times.) But initially it needed some love, so I basically needed to reseat all the ram, processor card and PCI graphics card. Anyone who has ever had the (dis-)pleasure of dealing with a 9500 already know where this is going… reseating the RAM involved gutting the machine. Nothing I have never done before, but that was before all the plastic degraded to the point where is was brittle and broke off just by looking at the case funny. It must be said that he more I did, the more bits of plastic I ended up with on the floor!

IMG_1295 48d46c8d-cfc4-4250-9064-f787f69eb064

I did however manage to get it to boot in to BeOS, and I will hopefully (gods of old electronics being favourable) do some follow-ups in this forum about my new (old) powerpc adventures.

IMG_1296 IMG_1297

IMG_1298 IMG_1299

11 Likes

Oh - I forgot the main point… the sad tale… Why, why did Apple use plastic? And why this type of plastic? It hasn’t aged well at all. The machine is actually held together by luck rather than anything else. The storage location wasn’t ideal and a lot of the shielding in the case appears to have corroded… but the plastics are on Apple. This machine was poorly designed in the first place and the case is going to fall apart fairly rapidly if I need to open it many more times.

I’m tempted to build a new case from modern materials and make it more likely to last longer. But as the machine is probably not likely to last another 5 years, I’d be reluctant to make that much effort. The only blessing is that the only big electrolytic capacitors seem to be in the PSU.

1 Like

Awesomeness :sunglasses: Really excited about all your Power Mac adventures!

1 Like