Beginner query on dev workflow

Hi All, newbie here.

I’m able to compile Haiku locally and wanted to boot it via VMWare but couldn’t build a .iso file. Tried below command from docs but it resulted in an error. Is this the cmd to use?

jam -q -j1 @release-cd

I’ll checkout Haiku using a nightly build for now.

And a more general query, how do folks usually build and develop Haiku? Do you folks make a .iso file and load it on VMWare after every iteration?

Apologies if my doubts are somehow incorrect in theory. This is my first time working on this kind of project.

1 Like

I build the new .hpkg and install it, Vmware does not run on haiku.

If you do not post the error you encountered nobody can help you. : )

For jam, you probably need the @anyboot profile. But it is better to check the documentation.

You probably want the @nightly-vmware profile, this will produce a VMDK instead of just a .iso. There’s also @minimum-vmware for a much more compact build (useful for testing the bootloader/kernel/drivers or simple CLI apps, mostly.)

I switch between building @minimum-raw and booting on QEMU (if doing most kinds of kernel development) or building @nighly-raw haiku.hpkg haiku_devel.hpkg (i.e. the two base packages without a full system image, less time to build) and then installing them from within a VM.

There are as many ways as there are developers. Hossizly more, as it also depends what part of the OS you are working on.

Like Nephele, I work from insioe Haiku which I run natively on my computer. In some cases I can build just one application or library (let’s say jam -q MediaPlayer to build the MediaPlayer app), then I can just run that from the build directory withquttinstalling anything.