Becoming a Haiku user

Hi everyone !
I discovered Haiku not long ago and I am testing it on my second laptop (I just submitted it on the compatibility list). I really love it! I remember the time when I had Macs with System 6, Mac OS 7-9 and how I miss them. Haiku somehow bring me back to this feeling. Thanks to all Haiku developers !
I wish Haiku become stronger, more compatible, more used, a great alternative to Window$, Mac O$ and GNU/Linux.
I like to see how the community here is so motivated and how devs are loving what they do. A good and fresh spirit that makes me love this project.
I am not technicaly able to help in coding nor debuggingā€¦ All I can do right now is to give you few dollars monthly with hope this will be usefull.

I canā€™t wait for testing Beta 3!

14 Likes

Welcome @JeremyF to Haiku, we are not all developers here, but if you can do some basic scripting haikuports can always use some help :slight_smile:

Welcome to the community. You does ā€˜notā€™ need to be a coder to help. There are many Things to do and side projects.

Using as user with reports of problems or good feelings, testing the System and programs, writing tutorials or docs, voting programs and games in haikudeport or haikudepot website.

Or you can start to code in cpp or easy languages like yab.

You do not need to be a coder to help (I think a word went missing here?). You can help by writing bugreports, helping with translation of Haiku in more languages, and also tasks related to graphics design, and many other things.

4 Likes

Thank you :slight_smile:
I started to help with french translation, but itā€™s already all done. Iā€™ll see what I can do.

There are some issues on my laptop, like no sound, wifi that doesnā€™t connect automaticaly, webcam not recognized, LibreOffice wonā€™t display french translationā€¦

Everything else works fine.

1 Like

I suspect Lelldorin meant you DONā€™T have to be a coder.

1 Like

Welcome to Haiku!