AMD Graphics Card Installation and/or Compatibility

I’m new to Haiku and am trying to run it on my desktop computer. I got it installed just now and I would like to get a graphics card working. Right now every time I boot I need to use graphics safe mode.

I have a AMD Radeon Pro WX 5100 and AMD Radeon RX 550. If possible I would like to get these graphics cards working. I am not sure how to go about getting this done. Does Haiku have some form of generalized driver for AMD graphics cards at least? I would settle for that.

Is there a certain PCI-E graphics card that works well with Haiku? I don’t mind using older cards.

Maybe your Radeon card needs add to Haiku their hw ID

try

listimage | grep accel

That is only a problem if you don’t get native resolution, otherwise it doesn’t matter. If you get a black screen while booting with a normal driver please make a bug report about that.

@luuvki I types your command and this is the output:

2047 0x0000019e0d448000 0x0000019e0d64c000 0 0 /boot/system/add-ons/accelerants/vesa.accelerant

… what does it mean?

My Radeon RX 550 works fine on nightly builds of Haiku. I believe the support for that card was only added after Beta2 was released.

1 Like

When I boot I get a black screen and there is no option for my native resolution which is 1600x1200. I’m not sure I understand your reasoning.

I will report this incompatibility.

@Lrrr awesome! Just what I wanted to hear. I currently have my Radeon Pro WX 5100 and it gives me a black screen. I have yet to install my RX 550.

What Haiku do you use? Which version? Click on the blue leaf and choose about Haiku. 64bit or 32bit version?
You should use a Haiku nightly build with all the updates.

Make your bugreport here: https://dev.haiku-os.org/

For now you can blacklist your current no-working driver. Read here how to:

Your radeon driver is here: /boot/system/add-ons/kernel/drivers/bin
radeon or radeon_hd

1 Like