WiFi won't log in

Just started using Haiku on my Dell laptop. It recognises my WiFi dongle and connects to TalkTalk but won’t log me in even though I use the correct log-in password that is fine with other operating systems. After the error message," Failed to join network," it says, ( incorrect password?). But the password is definitely correct. I am able to log in without any problem using an ethernet cable.

Check that number lock isn’t on, I’ve been caught out a few times because of that…

Thank you for replying. I tried what you suggested but no luck.

Kind regards,

Richard

Which chipset does your wifi dongle have?
Sometimes that can be caused by the driver not being perfectly compatible with your device, but in fact that message can have various causes.
I know it from some Ralink devices on FreeBSD (and Haiku uses FreeBSD drivers for Wifi)

Thank you for responding. I can see Ralink RT5370. Is that helpful? Sorry, I’m no expert in these things. Also my Dell laptop has a wi-fi card Broadcom BCM 4312 but Haiku doesn’t recognise that.

Richard

After doing some research, it seems that other users could connect to a Wifi using this specific chipset, as they reported other issues which they could fix then.
I still wouldn’t take compatibility for granted, considering my own experience with Ralink (but I don’t know the exact chipset anymore, unfortunately)
Broadcom has heavily proprietary drivers that barely work on anything but the big three (Windows,Linux,MacOS), better forget about that one.
Some suggestions:

• If your internal Broadcom chip has a standard form-factor,try replacing it with a Intel wifi chip. They’re supported pretty well, even the newer ones with 5GHz wifi.
  • Try using another USB Wifi dongle. It’s difficult to find out which chipset they use before buying, but I know that those by “Hama” use a Realtek chip which works fine for me.