What's so good about Haiku anyway?

One of the statements on the about Haiku page is “What’s so good about Haiku anyway”. Highlighted below is the snippet from that page.

Just curious is all, is that Haiku now 10 years after it was started, and at an Alpha stage right now, are these highlights still relavent in todays computing world.

I am not a programmer but a user, and can understand some of the things below, but I guess one thing that comes to mind is, what OS does not already focus on “personal computing” these days. I would think even Linux has become more user friendly that many folks can install and use it.

Is this “personal computing” statement still a major point of Haiku and what is different about Haiku’s personal computing approach over other OSes such as Mac OS X, etc…

I guess something to comes to mind, is after 10 years now, does Haiku really offer us something over other OSes or is this just a hobby for some here that have memories of the BeOS past and want to keep it alive.

Don’t get me wrong, I liked BeOS then in the 1990s, still like it today in a retro feel kind of way, but wonder if Haiku gives us something much better than other OSes that are not Alpha, not Beta, but shipping product.

From what I understand it will take another 5 years before Haiku is out of Alpha and Beta and by then, computing may be much different than we see today and wondering if at the speed things are progressing now, if Haiku would ever be of mass appeal values.

TJ

What’s so good about Haiku anyway?

The key highlights that distinguish Haiku from other operating systems include:

Specific focus on personal computing
Custom kernel designed for responsiveness
Fully threaded design for great efficiency with multi-processor/core CPUs
Rich OO API for faster development
Database-like file system (OpenBFS) with support for indexed metadata
Unified, cohesive interface