R5 Development Environment?

I have a Fujitsu P1120 laptop, upon which BeOS R5 runs great. The sound gets a bit choppy, and VLC can’t quite keep up with playing a DVD, and ACPI does not work so battery level and system shutdown don’t work, but other than that, almost all of the hardware works.

There are two pieces that do not work The built-in Winmodem, which I don’t really care about, and the touch screen.

I have never written a driver before, on any platform, but I’d like to give it a shot. Under Linux, I have written a program that reads from /dev/input/event# that successfully reports when the user has clicked the touch screen, as well as the X/Y position of the tap.

The device is a simple HID. When I touch the screen, the cursor moves, although not to the intended location. Click events are registered, but the device seems to be reporting to Be in an unexpected manner. The end result is that the cursor twitches at the bottom of the screen, rather than tracking the actual tap location.

Given this scenario, it seems ripe for the creationg of an InputServerFilter.

Unfortunately, I cannot seem to create one.

According to ‘gcc -v’, I am running ‘gcc version 2.95.3-beos-041202’. Unfortunately, I cannot seem to create a file that BeOS is happy with. I am able to compile the sample code located in /boot/optional/sample-code/input_server/, but whenever I copy the resulting .o files into ~/config/add-ons/input_server/(drivers|filters)/ and restart the input server with /system/servers/input_server -q, the input_server crashes. I then need to restart, disable user add-ons, remove the file, and restart again.

So, I have two questions.

The first How can I restart the input_server again without performing the restart two-step? If I’m connected to the laptop via ssh, running /system/servers/input_server -q again after removing the add-ons doesn’t seem to bring the system back to life.