Problem installing apps

Hi everyone!. I’m new with Haiku, i install it as the only operating system on my Dell Latitude C600, is doing very well, but when I click on the files .sh to install them, it opens them as text, that error is that?. how i can install applications differently? …
Thanks, Axiz.

Your .sh shell scripts need to be marked as executable first. Right click, get info and allow them to be executed.

I am only a novice on such a subject, but I believe that a missing symbol error means that the required function can’t be found in a library, although it may be an important system library, so this may be a gcc thing. But first, see if you can update any libraries if they are mentioned in the error.

I am also having difficulty installing apps, but in my case most of the apps state they have a missing symbol in the error message.

@ axizhe: A workaround would be to drag and drop the files onto the terminal and pushing enter.

@ Paspie: Haiku gcc2 is compatible with BeOS apps (BeOS is also gcc2), but when you run BeOS gcc2 apps on Haiku gcc4 they do not work as they are not compatible. To make things easier there are also gcc2hybrid and gcc4hybrid, which as the name states are the hybridisation of the two. So gcc2hybrid means Haiku gcc2 with a gcc4 compatibly layer.

If you are running a nightly, you should be using gcc2hybrid, like alpha2 was. If you are running alpha2 (thus a gcc2hybrid), then you have to understand that the whole gcc4 thing is experimental, therefore Haiku breaks gcc4 compatibly every few months. So if you are are using alpha2 and say trying to use the very latest version of Web+, then the gcc4 webkit files used by Web+ are not compatible with the gcc4 compatibly layer in alpha2 any more.

This might sound very complicated, but if you only use gcc2hybrid, then you only run into the very last problem.

I tried to install a nightly earlier but the disc wouldn’t boot.