Porting Haiku to ARM architecture | Haiku Project

Personal Profile
  • Johannes Wischert
  • Brief bio - I’m a computer science student living in Germany. I’m 25 years old now. I wrote my first program with 8 or 9 years or so and never stopped since then… After my studies I want to work somewhere in the embedded systems development but by now I enjoy my studies and take my time to finish.
Project idea information
  • Project title - Port the Haiku Kernel to ARM-Architecture
  • List of project goals
    • generic u-boot Bootloader using the u-boot apis as far as possible to ease porting to other platforms that use u-boot
    • Kernel that runs on the arm-processor and supports all applicable features that the x86 kernel has
    • Device driver for at least the SD-card and the Serial-Port
    • Working system running on a Beagleboard or similar device
  • Project description
    • To get the system running on an ARM-CPU we first need a working Haiku ARM toolchain to compile the code I already got the toolchain to run and produce working binaries (tested under qemu) so this part of the system already works more or less. see: https://dev.haiku-os.org/ticket/3633
    • After that done the next step is the boot loader. Since the beagleboard I want to target already has "Das U-boot" bootloader installed I decided to use it to get the kernel loaded. Using the u-boot loader has some advantages since it already provides all the important data and functions for loading the kernel like builtin serial drivers and drivers for all kind of memory to boot from (including a TFTP client) these functions are exposed by a simple platform independent API. By using this API an architecture independent kernel loader could be build, so that porting to other architectures that use u-boot would be much easier.
    • The loader would run as a standalone application on top of u-boot to use it's features and then switch to direct access to the hardware to run the kernel.