.NET support through mono

I’m not famililar with programming in BeOS but I’m a developer very interested in the OS. One thing that I feel would generate a lot of attention for Haiku is if a group was working of a port of mono or some other .NET port to run on Haiku or any BeOS implementation.

I’m not sure how much of the mono code is tied to Linux at the time as I understand the intention was to keep the bulk of the code written as managed code on top of the rest of the famework. So, if this is true alternate bindings should be able to be provided in most cases at least to provide the basic .NET runtime so that completely managed executables and libraries could be used directly in Haiku.

Of course there are many considerations such as implementing the mono stack on Haiku what if any GUI to support. An option may also be to make a dotnetified BeOS GUI API. Other considerations are probably similar to ones mentioned on mono-project.com

I’m mentioning this here because I’ve been searching for people who may already be at work on this but have not yet found any. If there there does exist projects or discussion in this topic area please direct me to them and excuse my ignorance.

kainhart wrote:
I'm not famililar with programming in BeOS but I'm a developer very interested in the OS. One thing that I feel would generate a lot of attention for Haiku is if a group was working of a port of mono or some other .NET port to run on Haiku or any BeOS implementation.

I’m not sure how much of the mono code is tied to Linux at the time as I understand the intention was to keep the bulk of the code written as managed code on top of the rest of the famework. So, if this is true alternate bindings should be able to be provided in most cases at least to provide the basic .NET runtime so that completely managed executables and libraries could be used directly in Haiku.