Multiuserland in Haiku

I’m a newbie with a single question for now.
Can someone explain me - why on Microkernel OS’s we can’t get multiuserland environment ?
How i’m supposed to share my computer with others ?
How i’m supposed to guarantee some sort of security if everything inside HAIKU
runs already as root ???

Thanks.

1 Like

Welcome to the community. Those are actually 3 questions :wink:

As far as I know this has nothing to do with microkernel vs. monolithic kernel. Haiku does have prerequisites for multiuser already, though it isn’t reflected in the user interface. You can add users on the commandline, eg. for the sshd service.

You can share it but you can`t isolate your data from the others. Unless you encrypt them in some kind of way.

You aren’t. If you have some computing tasks to do that involve any kind of security requirements, don’t use Haiku for it at the moment.

That all might sound a bit negative but for everything that’s not security sensitive Haiku is a quite neat and interesting platform, with a rather small but very helpful community. Hope you give it a try!

9 Likes

It’s fair to say that there are not many hackers who have even heard of Haiku, let alone are actively trying to hack it.
Please bear in mind that this is Beta software. Nobody is suggesting that you use it to keep important and deadly secret files on it.
Just buy an old laptop, install Haiku, and see what the future of the desktop could look like. And run like.

2 Likes

there’s Linux, for those needs

2 Likes

…or seL4 microkernel which is useful within the Genode framework under SculptOS.

Haiku doesnt have microkernel.

3 Likes

I hate linux,linux is gross,Haiku is sleek - fast and way better organized.
Of course - Haiku is in the beta stage and i also heard before that you can’t have a multiuserland on it,so for this reason i made this post to clarify this particular situation for my self.