Looking for some help to start out

Hey everyone! I’ve been a lurker of anything Haiku for a couple of years now I think, and recently I finally made the decision to install the latest nightly build on my VM.

I have to admit that I have very little to no experience with either BeOS, or any other alternative OS’s such as Linux. I’m mostly a Windows user who’s looking to jump ship to something like Haiku once support for Windows 7 gets dropped (which will be in 2020 I think).

In the meantime, I’m looking for ways to grow my understanding of the OS. I already installed a few programs through the Haiku Depot application, but from my understanding the OS works with something called “packages”. I’m sure most people here will be completely familiar with this already, but I’d like to know more about these common conventions. As I understand it, packages are kind of like what installers are on Windows (feel free to correct me!). I would like to know how to manually install applications through packages. I would also like to know how to go around using the terminal, and what the common keyboard-shortcuts are for navigation.

Another minor thing I would like to know is how to change the deskbar position. I’ve seen screenshots from people who changed it to the bottom position, but I haven’t figured out how to do this (the “preferences” menu doesn’t show anything relevant to this).

Thanks for reading, and I hope you guys are willing and able to assist me in becoming a more experienced Haiku user. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hello and welcome! :slight_smile:

About the Deskbar position: next to the clock, you will see a few vertical dots. Click at that dots and grab the Deskbar to the upper, lower or oposite corner of the screen.

It’s easier to do that explain it :smiley:

1 Like

Welcome, Athferion!

[quote=“Athferion, post:1, topic:5744”]
As I understand it, packages are kind of like what installers are on Windows (feel free to correct me!).[/quote]