Help with "boost" to compile [missing: Boost_INCLUDE_DIR]

I’m just learning Haiku and programming on this system.
I am trying to compile a program that requires Boost dependencies (Along with others)

But when compiling it, CMake gives me the following error:
“Could NOT find Boost (missing: Boost_INCLUDE_DIR)”

According to what I have read on other sites, what I have to do is specify to CMake where boost is, but I don’t know in Haiku where the libraries that I install are located

Or even if I installed boost correctly, I installed the “boost_build”, “boost_x86”, and “boost170_x86” packages but I don’t know which of those might contain the libraries I need, or how I tell CMake where to find it.

I understand that my problem can be very basic, but I am getting to know the system, and I would greatly appreciate your help.

Install the _devel subpackage too. Check the HaikuDepot menu to make them visible (the _develop packages are hidden in default).

Also read the FAQ and the user guide.

I recently read in another post that I had to install the _develop packages, and indeed I installed them, but always the same message, that boost is missing

1 Like

There is a boost_build and boost_build_x86 package. Perhaps you need the _x86 version in addition to the _devel packages that @extrowerk mentioned. Also, you may need to run setarch x86 to change to gcc11 before running cmake.

2 Likes

@robante15 welcome to the Haiku community :slight_smile:

Because you mention _x86 packages I assume you are on 32bit Haiku.