Building mlnet for Haiku, some questions

Hi all.
I’ve recently build mlnet for haiku_x86 (gcc-x86). Now I wish to create the hpkg but first I want to fix some problems…
First problem (big problem, in fact): mlnet only can be build if locale are set in english due to a problem with LC_NUMERIC (otherwise ocaml fails to build because the float format)
Second problem: Replace autoseededrandompool with randompool as crypto++ seems to not include the first due to Haiku not having “nrg” support. I’ve no idea what is this, can someone explain it to me?

Despite those 2 and other minor problems mlnet works nicely but only with the web gui. Next thing is try to create a gui… perhaps too much work for a first project? (It’s my first haiku project, I’m a developer and ancient beos user but this is my first attempt to build something in Haiku/BeOS)

1 Like

Please create a PR with your current recipe, let we tinker with them a bit, maybe we can help you here and there.

Btw you can try to build mlpack too on x86, the recipe is 64 bit only currently. Or OpenCV.

Oh, this is not machine learning, is it?

Hi. No, mlnet (mldonkey) it’s a client for kadmila and e2k networks (also others as fasttrack, soulseek… my build only includes kadmila and e2k),

nrg is I guess “native random generator”. The idea is that the kernel should provide some reliable source of random numbers for crypto purposes. Currently we don’t, so the upper layers should not lie about it and pretend that we do, while providing unsafe/predictible numbers instead.

Setting the locale may be done by exporting the environment variables (export locale=C or so in your build script). Does that not work reliably?

Building GUIs with the Haiku API is fun and enjoyable, I think. If mlnet provides a way to access the data you need (REST API? or would you plug code directly into the server?) it shouldn’t be too hard to achieve something.

Thx for the explanation about “nrg”.