Booting Haiku-OS inside Qemu seems very buggy

I’d really like to use Haiku-OS, but NOT being a coder, I can report bugs, log errors, etc. but not much I can do to fix any of them.

At present I am focusing on VMs, once it works reproducably on them, I will install on bare metal. Not that I have anything against doing so now, but redoing the setup when something goes wrong, or filing logs or error reports is easier/faster from a VM.

The host is a Debian 12 Bookworm derivative, with the latest Qemu from repositories, 7.2. Used with AQemu GUI.

Have tried R1Beta4, as well as multiple (4-5?) Nightlies, from 57754 to 57801. All install fine, but it would seem the code to make the resulting hard drive image boot (qcow2, and most likely the same used to make a hard drive boot on bare metal), is broken!

All installs boot only with Haiku CD attached, if removed, various flavors of no boot device found errors are generated. I also tried letting it boot from CD, but selecting hard drive as the OS disk by holding down shift, and then once booted from hard drive, executing the makebootable command in terminal on the HD as shown in Drive Setup. No difference. Still won’t boot without CD.

Ready and willing to provide further diagnostic information, hopefully to help pinpoint and eliminate this very bothersome showstopping bug.

Could you join the IRC channel so I can help you there?

I’m on IRC now, in #haiku, as HaikuUser. While I would like to make it work now, for the time being my workaround may suffice. My bigger concern is that it works on both Vms and bare metal in the future, for further installs.

Ahoy,

You had not written which version you installed.

64bit install boot UEFI only. This way need the optical media which contains the EFI partition.
Some stated earlier here he had BIOS way booted Haiku in case 64bit as well. For me it had not worked ever.
So TO RESOLVE THIS …
You must create an esp partition too on your virtual disk.