Basic Questions From Newbie

To begin with, I’m not really a tech person, but I have been making minor repairs to my own computers for about ten or twenty years.

For the past few years I’ve been using Kubuntu as my OS, I’m relatively happy with it, but it seems like every other day I have to download large system updates which are a pain due to the slow bandwidth where I’m living. So, I dececided to take the tentative steps of looking to see if there is anything better.

Well, I downloaded Haiku, and was able to install it in virtual machine, but I don’t recall seeing an option to set up multiple user accounts during the set up process. So, my first question is, Does Haiku support multiple user login accounts, so that everyone will have their folder under home?

Also, does Haiku need to have a separate swap partition like Linux does?

Additionally, does Haiku use the ext-4 file partition type? If not, is their a utility I can use within Windows PE on a usb thumb drive, which will allow me to access files on my Haiku partition, just in case things get really screwy?

Also, is Haiku a good OS if I plan on paying bills on line, and maybe do some online banking?

Thanks for any info.

Welcome to the forum!

Haiku currently does not support multi user in graphic interface, there is only one home folder.

You do not need to allocate a swap partition, it’s managed within the Haiku partition.

Personally I do not use ext-4, but if I recall right, the support is not perfect. There is decent NTFS and FAT32 support, but make sure to keep multiple backups.

Browser and online security situation is a bit tricky, I wouldn’t use it for online banking or any other sensitive operation just yet.

Hope this helps!

Haiku uses BeFS by default, which Linux can open but not write to. I remember seeing a FUSE driver that can write to BeFS, but it seems to be unmaintained.

I’d say the best choice for an exchange partition file system is still fat32.