Any Good Guides on gcc?

In basic, I’d like a reference source about using the compiler and, most importantly, what exactly errors mean. I’m still a beginner so bits about code optimisation and compiler design are not needed at the moment.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thank-you.

http://gcc.gnu.org/

You likely want manual on right hand side under documentation.

Thanks, but the problem is that I couldn’t find anything explaining what the errors produced by the compiler mean. I think it’s pretty poor that software used by so many people doesn’t have this information in its official manual as it’s what new programmers need to fix their programs.

I totally agree. And unfortunately there is a long history of compilers with unhelpful error messages. Part of the reason for this is that there are hundreds if not thousands of ways to make a compiler complain and syntax errors are just one kind. Consequently compiler writers don’t tend to focus on user friendliness. I would also take a poke at the the GCC project and say that they have a history of placing ‘GNU-ness’ and portability over user-friendliness.

But let me re-emphasize that a really good place to start programming on Haiku is DarkWyrm’s programming series:

• http://www.haiku-os.org/blog/darkwyrm/2010-09-08_new_series_lessons_programming_haiku

As you do more programming it will get easier.

http://www.network-theory.co.uk/docs/gccintro/gccintro_94.html

… is probably closer to what you’re looking for. But realistically the diagnostics from GCC (and any other C compiler I’ve worked with) have a fairly transparent meaning. If figuring out what you should do in response to these diagnostics was a trivial mechanical step the compiler would do it automatically, but it isn’t and a guide book can’t help you to know what you meant.

A syntax highlighting editor may help if you find that you frequently make typographical mistakes, such as omitting one of a pair of parentheses.